Skip to content

The life of a two year old…

May 1, 2015

I have to say that I see the world in a WHOLE new way with Jonen. We stop to pick up flowers, look at construction sites, wave at garbage men, and watch high school baseball games. I know more construction terms than I ever thought possible. We paint, draw, and make crazy things with duplos. It’s pretty fun to have a two year old…except when you are trying to get out of the door. Jonen is dragging his feet or refusing to brush his teeth. He is also wanting to stay up later and later at night. I want to keep the 7:30 bedtime, but he is going to sleep closer to 8:30 now. (It is light much later.)

I would love to hear tricks on potty training. He was all about it in February and even peed on the potty right away. THEN he decided he didn’t like the potty at all and refused to sit on it. I got him to sit on the potty again last night (with his pants on). Please send tips! I’ve tried bribery (doesn’t work), so other solutions are welcome!

In the last month, we went to San Diego. Jonen LOVED the zoo, his cousins, and the beach. We also went to our first Mariners game for the season. Jonen is now acting like Felix Hernandez and Nelson Cruz all the time. We’ve also kept at the usual garden/play ground circuits. I’m working and running Nearby (check it out!). We have pretty full lives at the moment, and I’m constantly striving to find balance. Tips for that are welcome, too! Bran and Jonen now have Daddy & Jonen Saturday mornings which help a lot!

Jonenisms:

  • His teacher told me he is the only kid in his class who eats the salad everyday and asks for more. That’s our boy!
  • He is so observant! He can repeat any word that we say. Bran had him watch a video in Spanish and now he is saying excavator in Spanish. (The observant side also has a flip side of noticing other kids’ bad behavior as well. We talk to him all the time about being gentle and kind. It works most of the time.)
  • Rocking Robin came on the radio last night during dinner and Jonen said, “I love this song!” and started singing along.  BIG Michael Jackson fan like his daddy!

Some Pics:

At the playgarden

At the playgarden

My boys and a day at the park!

My boys and a day at the park!

Farmer Jonen

Farmer Jonen

Happy Hour at Tutta Bella with my boys

Happy Hour at Tutta Bella with my boys

Cool sculpture in Jefferson Park

Cool sculpture in Jefferson Park

Building a fort together

Building a fort together

In the Wild West!

In the Wild West!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dorena permalink
    May 4, 2015 2:40 am

    He sounds pretty normal to me. He will potty train when he is ready Liam turned 3 last October and is still wearing diapers. He will sit on his potty chair when he wants to and he knows what it is for. Boys are just harder to potty train good luck sorry I don’t have anything better to tell you. When my son was potty training his Dad was home and had been in a wreck and his Dad did the most of it. Travis’s thing was peeing on the rocks outside so that was how he was potty trained. I think he was 3 or 4 when he finally figured it out. His little sister came along when he was 16 months old so that complicated this somewhat. I just don’t remember when it happed it just did.

  2. Darlene permalink
    May 6, 2015 8:35 pm

    Love! Love! this posting site. Our Jonen will figure it all out, about this “potty training” thing.
    Jarrod was closer to four by his baby book. All of sudden Jarrod decided he wanted to potty like his Daddy.
    I love all the words and pictures. Love Mom and Rodney….Gma and Gpa

Leave a Reply

