Skip to content

Quirks – Lindsey Family Style

April 13, 2017

We all have quirks and weird traits as families do.

Jonen has come up with some Lindsey Family Rules, which he tells us about sometimes. I don’t really know the origin of all of them. They are:

  1. No shoes in the house.
  2. No walking and eating at the same time. (This is from his preschool.)
  3. No jumping on the couch. (He will enforce this one with friends visiting.)
  4. You can only throw soft balls in the house.
  5. We give lots of cuddles when someone is sad.

I don’t mean to imply that our way of parenting is correct by any means, I have just come to the realization that I’m very firm in a couple of areas.I’m going to share some of ours here:

Me: I am a firm believer in no screen time until a kiddo is two and very limited time after that. I know how easy it is to just plop in front of a screen to make reality fade away, and I feel very strongly that should only be used in limited doses. It makes my life harder, since I have to come up with activities. Sometimes, I am the only parent giving my kiddos toys/crayons/coloring books instead of a phone or iPad. I forgot to write the funny story earlier! I used to make Jonen’s preschool take him to another classroom when they watched a short video after lunch. I just didn’t want him watching tv. Kinda silly in hindsight.

My other quirk? I love healthy food. Bran and I are constantly coming up with ways to add more veggies into our meals. I also don’t think kids need excess sugar. Our kids are just as happy with a mango as they are with ice cream. (Samuel has never actually had ice cream…) AND they don’t have to experience brain freeze and freak out. I see the impacts of diet on people, and I know if you are raised with healthy options, you generally feel better and are calmer. (This is coming from someone who only ate fried foods growing up!)

Jonen: He can read! The quirk here is that I think he has been able to read for a little while now, he just didn’t want to show us. He doesn’t like too much attention when he does something good. I taught him how to read though!! Pretty proud mama moment.

Samuel: He loves to crawl over a squeaky toy (like Sophie) and then lay on it so it squeaks. He kinda bounces on it to have it make noise. He likes to make kissing sounds as well. He loves to explore now and has made it to the top of the stairs. We have to help him learn how to get down the stairs now.

Brandon: Who teaches a 3 year old to bat left handed and throw right handed? This dad. Jonen is so confused when people ask if he is right or left handed. He is proud that he is like Robinson Cano though, so Bran did well.

Also? We are rocking it as Tee Ball coaches!! The kiddos kinda understand positions and they all ran to the correct bases in the first game. They seem to be having a good time. Go Cleveland Cubs!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve Lindsey permalink
    April 14, 2017 3:01 am

    Enjoyed the pics. I think your quirks are good things. Keep it going

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Darlene/Mom/ Grandmother permalink
    April 15, 2017 1:32 am

    Bethany and Brandon I love your parenting style! Jonen is a healthy normal little boy and Samuel is doing so well. Jonen Grandma is so PROUD of you for reading. Grandma is going to send you some books Bethany read and Grandma too! Yes they are old! Antiques!! Keep up the GREAT JOB! Love your teams! Go Cleveland Cubs! Love Grandma Darlene and Grandpa Rodney

Leave a Reply

